Standing in the Sun in Gaza #GFM

Today was a warm sunny day in Amman. It felt like Spring as there were even a few flowers blooming in the garden. Around noon, I spoke with Rami in Gaza, via Skype video. We talked about the latest developments with the Gaza Freedom March - the hope and determination to continue despite the obstacles that Egypt keeps placing. Then feeling a need to talk about something happier, I asked him if it was sunny and beautiful in Gaza today as it was in Amman. "I will show you Gaza," Rami said, and turned his camera toward the window. At the same moment I went out onto the veranda with my laptop. The Gaza Sun shone into my eyes through the video link, while I felt the warmth of the Amman Sun on my face. It is the same Sun, we laughed, but the Sun is under siege in Gaza. We shared hopes that soon we would be standing in the Sun together. The distance from here to there is barely 150 km as the crow flies, but it feels like it might as well be in another solar system. Over the next few days people are flying to Cairo from all over the world and I will too after the weekend. Our determination remains: to stand in the Sun with the Palestinian people in Gaza and to break the darkness of the siege. Goodnight and safe travels to all.